Procrastaknit

Everything else can wait until I finish this row…

Crochet Intarsia

on September 20, 2014

Over the past few days I have been trying to figure out a new crochet technique: intarsia. I’ve done knitted intarsia before, it’s been challenging but fun – my greatest knitting accomplishment to date is an intarsia alphabet baby blanket for my niece.

I found some great tutorial videos on YouTube (if you need help with this technique I recommend Crochet Ever After’s Channel), but I must admit, I am not liking the way crochet intarsia looks. Unlike knitted Intarsia, when you crochet a square the first and last stitch are always off, not on top of the other, so it looks lopsided.

The project I want to make is a 1Up Mushroom (free on Ravelry), another project for the Super Mario Theme Nursery. I think what I am going to do is knit the colorwork in garter stitch (so that it stays reversable) and then crochet the border. Hopefully, the crochet chart will translate well into knitting. We’ll see how that works out.


Leave a comment